2003 Lake O' the Pines Rally Recap
"Honoring Ed Mabry - "Racer"

Bruce Davidson - Rally Chairman

<Bike Show Results>     <This Year's Heroes>       <Rally Photo Gallery>

rainbar.gif (4064 bytes)

The NTNOA's 19th Rally was a success because of the hard work and dedication of many of its members.  Our list of heroes below is only the start of a very long list of unselfish individuals who donated their time and effort in making this Rally one of the best ever.  A special thanks goes to our Rallye Chairman - Bruce Davidson who accepted the challenge again this year and again worked his butt off (figuratively speaking).  Thanks again Bruce!

This Rally was significant for a couple of reasons.  First, we invited the Tejas Chapter of the Antique Motorcycle Club of America to attend and share in the festivities.  To accommodate the Tejas Chapter we added two classes to the Bike Show which proved to be woefully inadequate.  The Tejas Chapter's participation was overwhelming and added substantially to the quality of the Bike Show.  Hopefully they will be back next year.

Next we hired the Avinger Future Farmers of America (FFA) to handle our registration desk.  They did a super job.  We also coordinated to have Drop Jaw Barbeque cater the event and eliminated the Saturday night BBQ diner which allowed us to lower the registration fee by $5.  We added all night security last year and continued the practice.  All in all, the changes made for a smoother Rally.

This year's rallye honored Ed Mabry - "Racer". 
Click on Thumbnail to enlarge.

Ed is the owner/builder of No. 601.  He is a retired Bell Helicopter engineer, a long time race car and race bike builder and a great supporter of the NTNOA.  No. 601 runs two turbocharged, fuel burning, "old" Triumph Trident push-rod, 2-valve engines. They make ~450 horsepower and the partially streamlined bike weighs 1,000 lbs.  This bike is also the fastest open-wheel motorcycle in the world and in history. It holds various class records as high as 238MPH and has exceeded 260MPH.
See http://www.TeamTriumphTexas.com for more information.

A recent trend over the last couple of years is for Rally enthusiasts to show up early, stay late and enjoy the beautiful scenery, camaraderie and roads around the lake.  This year we also had more motor homes show up than ever before - we must be getting older.

In the weather department we were blessed with perfect conditions on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.  The skies were clear and the temperatures moderate making for ideal conditions for the Bike Show.  Inclement conditions didn't appear until Sunday morning.  Although it rained Sunday it didn't dampen the spirits of Rally attendees.

Tom Tanner, the owner of Big Cypress Marina, gave us an alternate entry/exit into the Rally area this year which seemed to expand the campground area and was soon adopted by all as the preferred entry/exit route.

Our Master of Ceremony Daryl Bane who returned from of a one year absence did a fantastic job.  Daryl has an in-depth knowledge of classic motorcycles from all marques.

Once again Bob Speer was selling Rallye & Club T-shirts, pins and hats.  Thanks also go to Phil Dansby for coming up with Trophies and to Dean Baker for laying out our bike show area.  Thanks to Marlene
Gabrielson for organizing the ballot counting teams.  A big thanks go to Bob Cox and Dicky Hunter for handling all the AMA insurance chores.  Thanks also go to Clay Walley and Randal Bird for rounding up door prizes. 

rainbar.gif (4064 bytes)

'03 Bike Show Results





1 NORTON (pre-Commando) John Reidling '60 Norton 400cc
2nd  Sid Guillot
3rd  Travis Miller
'73 850 Commando
'73 Roadster
'75 MKIII Commando
3 TRIUMPH (Pre-Unit) Kevin Giles '47 Speed Twin
4 TRIUMPH ( 1963 - 1970) 1st  Bob Hagemann
2nd  Edgar Gage
'70 Bonneville
'69 Triumph TT
5 TRIUMPH (1971 - 1983) 1st  Stewart Garrison
2nd  George Tuttle
'73 X75 Hurricane
'79 Bonneville
6 TRIUMPH (Modern) 1st  Johnny Conley
2nd  Joe Edwards
'03 Bonneville
'02 Bonneville
7 BSA (Vintage 1963 & Older) (no entries)  
8 BSA (1964 & Later) 1st Craig Boland
2nd Van Driskill
'70 A65 Thunderbolt
'69 A50 Royal Star
9 GERMAN (Vintage 1969 & Older) James Marshall '36 BMW R-12
10 GERMAN (Classic 1970 - 1993) 1st  Laura Keating
2nd  James Franklin
'75 BMW R90S
'74 MZ TS250
11 GERMAN (Modern 1994 & Later Dave Howe '02 BMW R1150R
12 ITALIAN (Classic 1989 & Older) 1st  Bobby Pickard
2nd  Phil Dansby
'78 Laverda Jotta 1200
'82 Benelli 900
13 ITALIAN (Modern 1990 & Later) Jay McCurry '03 Moto Guzzi LeMans
14 COMPETITION Dean Baker '65 Triumph T120C
15 SINGLES (British & European) David Eckenfels '68 BSA Victor
16 SIDECAR (British & European) Paul Davis '63 BMW 50/2 w/ Steib
17 OTHER BRITISH & EUROPEAN Jeff Dancey '55 Ariel Square 4
18 ANTIQUE (1931 & Older) Mike Thomson '16 Triumph Model H
19 ANTIQUE (1932 to 1973) Elton Morris '35 Indian 4
20 PACIFIC RIM Steve Osmundson '63 Honda 250 Dream
21 CAFE & MODIFIED STREET 1st  Jim Mosher
2nd  Bill Doll
Triumph/Scout Bobber
'76 Moto Guzzi 850 T3
22 CONCOURS 1st  Dave Edinger
2nd  Jim Mosher
'16 Royal Enfield
'51 Vincent Rapide
23 PEOPLES CHOICE Jim Mosher '51 Vincent Rapide

rainbar.gif (4064 bytes)

This years heroes:

Rally Chairman – Bruce Davidson
Registration – Avinger FFA
MC – Daryl Bane
Asst. MC – Victor Toogood
Trophies, Signs and Pins – Phil Dansby
PA system - Paul Brady
AMA Insurance - Bob Cox
Security – Berwyn Henderson
Bike Show – Dean Baker & George Tuttle
Rallye & Club T-shirt and Hat sales – Bob Speer
Door prizes – Clay Walley, Randal Bird, Dicky Hunter
Rally Packs – Dicky Hunter
Rally Shirt Design – Bob Cox
Pin Design – Bob Kizer
Radios - Clay Walley


Audry of Moto Liberty
Keith Martin of RPM Cycle
Perry Bushong of Perry's Motorcycle Service
Huston Matlock - for the NTNOA Jacket
Jerry Bradford of Bentonville, AR BMW
Tucker Rocky Distributing
Tony Lewis of EuroSport Cycles
Gregg Holt at BMW Motorcycles of Ft Worth
John Burgoyne of Moto Techniques
BMOA of Houston
Junior of Cycle Imports
Rob at North Dallas BMW
Bob Kizer for the rallye pins.
Barry's Bike Badges for patches, etc.
BOM! Products for cleaning and polishing supplies
RGM Motors for British bike spares
Cycle Gadgets.Com for gadgets and stuff
Walridge Motors Limited for spares and literature.

The rallye T-shirt graphic was once again designed by our own Bob Cox.

See You Next Year!

[Home]   [Site Map]

Copyright 2000 NTNOA All rights reserved.
Revised: January 06, 2018 .