20th Anniversary Lake O' the Pines Rally Recap

Bruce Davidson, Rally Chairman

This year's rally attracted  well over 300 happy campers.  We also had over 100 of the finest restored British & European motorcycles found anywhere in the country in the Bike Show.

The rally this year featured the "Texas Ceegar" along with the world famous twin engine Norton powered HOG SLAYER which is owned and was raced by T. C. Christianson.

The Texas Ceegar will be shipped back to its home at the National Motorcycle Museum in Birmingham, England immediately following the rally.  The HOG SLAYER will also find its will earned retirement at the same location.

David Edwards, Editor-In-Chief of Cycle World magazine was there to honor his brother Kevin, a long time member of the NTNOA who passed away this year.  David presented the Honorary President's Award to the most outstanding bike at the rally.  He selected the Texas Ceegar as the winner.  Excellent choice.

David Edwards presenting the Honorary president's Award

The Avinger Future Farmers of America (FFA) once again handled our registration desk and after hours security.  They did another super job this year.

Paul Valentine's LOP Photo Album #1 and Photo Album # 2
Click on either photo album to view hundreds of Paul's photos.

Dave Howe's photos of <[Steve Rangeloff's surprise birthday party]>  <[Lake O' the Pines]>

2004 Bike Show Results





1 NORTON (pre-Commando) 1st  Jack Herneupont '57 Norton Domi 99
2 NORTON COMMANDO 1st  Robert Mercer
2nd  Jerry Bradford
3rd  J. J. Dobbs
'74 850 Commando
'70 750 Fast Back
'74 850 Commando
3 TRIUMPH (Pre-Unit) 1st  Kevin Giles '47 Speed Twin
4 TRIUMPH ( 1963 - 1970) 1st  George Tuttle
2nd  Alvin Hall
3rd  Daryl O'Neill
'70 T120R Bonneville
'66 TR6R
'69 TR6C
5 TRIUMPH (1971 - 1983) 1st  Mike Poteet
2nd  Jessica Thomson
'79 T140 Bonneville
'73 X-75 Hurricane
6 TRIUMPH (Modern) 1st  Woody Wilson
2nd  Randy Bauer
'04 Thruxton
'02 Bonneville
7 BSA (Vintage 1963 & Older) 1st  Dar Hebert '60 BSA DBD34
8 BSA (1964 & Later) 1st  Perry Bushong BSA 650
9 GERMAN (Vintage 1969 & Older) 1st  Perry Bushong '68 BMW R69S
10 GERMAN (Classic 1970 - 1993) 1st  Scott Baker
2nd  Gary Mercer
'78 BMW R100RS
'85 BMW K100RS
11 GERMAN (Modern 1994 & Later 1st  Fabrizio Petris '02 BMW R1150R
12 ITALIAN (Classic 1989 & Older) 1st  Phil Dansby
2nd  Dan Farr
3rd  Bob Verner
'79 Ducati 900 SS
'74 Ducati 750 GT
'65 Ducati 250
13 ITALIAN (Modern 1990 & Later) 1st  Steve Hampton
2nd  Becky Sunshine
'93 Moto Guzzi Daytona
'03 Moto Guzzi LeMans
14 COMPETITION 1st  Richard Bates '75 Westlake Speedway
15 SINGLES (British & European) 1st  Phil Dansby Ducati 450 Desmo
16 SIDECAR (British & European) 1st  Perry Bushong Sunbeam S/C
17 OTHER BRITISH & EUROPEAN 1st  C. R. Hebert '62 Matchless G12CSR
18 ANTIQUE (1931 & Older) (no entries)  
19 ANTIQUE (1932 to 1953) 1st  Mike Thomson
2nd  Jerry House
3rd  Laurent Fouillet
'34 BSA Blue Star
'51 Ariel Square 4
'49 HRD Vincent
20 ANTIQUE (1954 to 1969) 1st  James Marshall
2nd  Kim McBride
3rd  Gay Simpson
'56 KS601e Zundapp
'62 HD Serviscar
'66 Triumph Cub
21 PACIFIC RIM 1st  Delia Weiss
2nd  Ryan Fender
3rd  Mike Scott
'69 Honda CB350
'66  " Super Hawk 305
'71 Honda 500 Four
22 CAFE 1st  Carl Blair
2nd  Mike Poteet
'60 Bonneville
'79 Bonneville
23 MODIFIED STREET 1st  Dave Howe '73 Norton "Special"
24 CONCOURS 1st  Laura Keating '75 BMW R90S
25 PEOPLES CHOICE 1st  Richard Bates '75 Westlake Speedway

  T. C. Christianson with his Norton powered HOG SLAYER 

This year's Rally T-shirt design by Bob Cox.

This year's pin design.

Checkout the Save Our Streamliner website.

Big Cypress Marina is located on the North side of the Dam, approximately 9 miles N.W. of Jefferson City off Hwy. 726

Link to Jefferson Texas tourism guide - http://jeffersontx.com/
Link to Big Cypress Marina - http://jeffersontx.com/bigcypressmarina/

[Home]   [Site Map]

Copyright 2000 NTNOA All rights reserved.
Revised: January 06, 2018 .