The 32nd Lake O' the Pines Rallye Recap

September 29th – October 2nd  - 2016

Rallye Chairman - Dennis Tackett

This year's rallye moved away from Big Cypress Marina by Lake O' the Pines to Diamond Don's RV Park located just one mile north of Jefferson, TX. The turnout was exceptional and there was a record number of beautiful motorcycles in the bike show!  The well maintained campground located in the woods of East Texas provided a great venue for our 32nd rallye.  The campground sits on 100 acres and has 50 RV hook ups, clean restrooms, free Wi-Fi, a huge covered pavilion with a stage, sound system, lighting.  In short it was a great weekend with our wonderful new host, Diamond Don!  We're be back there next year.

Click here for Paul Valentine's Photos

There were 130 bikes in the Bike Show, an NTNOA Rallye Record!

2016 Bike Show & Award Winners


Class Description


Year/Make/Model of Bike


CONCOURS Jack Wilson Memorial

1st Richard Asprey

1915 Norton 16TT


NORTON (Pre-Commando)

1st Richard Asprey

1958 Norton Dominator


NORTON COMMANDO - Joe Edwards (aka Dr. Norton) Memorial Award 

1st Bob Cox
2nd Jim DeBlois

1974 Commando Roadster
1970 Commando Roadster


TRIUMPH (1970 & Older) 

1st Mike Fairchild
2nd Jim DeBlois

1969 Trophy
1964 Cub


TRIUMPH (1971 - 1987)

1st Elvis Jr.
2nd Mike Thomson

1973 T150V Trident
1973 Hurricane


BRITISH MODERN (1988 & Newer)

1st Elvis Jr.
2nd David Griffiths
3rd John Clements

1998 Thunderbird Sport
2015 Triumph Bonneville
2007 Triumph T100



1st Jim DeBlois
2nd Jay Pope

1958 Gold Star
1970 Firebird



1st Richard Asprey
2nd Allen Solomon

1954 Vincent White Shadow
1953 AJS


GERMAN (1991 & Older)

1st Tom Willis
2nd Mike Thomson
3rd Charlie Stoner

1956 BMW R56
1974 BMW R90S
1971 BMW R/75


ITALIAN ( 1991 & Older) 

1st Jamie King
2nd Ted Garland

1972 Guzzi Eldorado
1972 Guzzi Eldorado


ITALIAN MODERN (1992 & Newer) 

1st Doug Fox

1995 1100 Hyper Guzzi


COMPETITION - Ed Mabry Memorial Award

1st Tim Lopon

Triumph T140 Drag Bike



1st Bill Fernau

1967 BMW


PACIFIC RIM (< 500cc, 1991 & Older)
Norm Blumenberg Memorial Award

1st Isiah Booth
2nd Jim DeBlois
3rd Mark Dunn

1984 Yamaha RZ350
1974 Yamaha RD350
1973 Yamaha DT250


PACIFIC RIM (> 500cc, 1991 & Older

1st Michael Lanning
2nd Dean Heatley
3rd Gary Anderson

1979 Kawasaki KZ650
1982 Honda GL1100
1978 Honda GL1000


AMERICAN (1991 & Older)
Mike (Grumpy) Brown Memorial Award

1st Mike McMains
2nd Jay Pope

1930 Indian Chief
1942 Harley-Davidson UL


MODERN (1992 & Newer) 

1st Kenny Farrell
2nd Bobby Vaughn

2015 H-D Softail Deluxe
2012 Kawasaki Z1000



1st Walt Branham
2nd Dick Gambino

2073 Production Racer
1984 BMW R65 Modified


MODIFIED STREET (Custom / Bobbed )

1st James A. Powell
2nd Dennis Smith

1963 BSA Modified
1970 Triumph Bobber


PIT BIKE / MINI BIKE (125cc or less / any year) 

1st David Morales
2nd Jerrett Martin

1977 Honda CT70
1971 Suzuki T125







Richard Asprey

1915 Norton 16TT







1st Gary Moore
2nd Richard Asprey
3rd Mike Fairchild

1971 Norton Commando
1955 Norton Dominator
1969 Triumph Trophy






BEST NORTON - Ridden to the Rally

Jim Comstock

1975 Norton Commando


BEST TRIUMPH - Ridden to the Rally

David Griffith

2015 Triumph Bonneville


BEST ITALIAN - Ridden to the Rally

Paul Dalton

1984 Moto Guzzi SP


BEST GERMAN - Ridden to the Rally

Nick Gilbreath

1977 BMW R/W/&






Bent Valve Award

Allen Solomon

1953 AJS

Winner of the 1972 Triumph TR6 raffle bike was Mark Wood.
Dennis Tackett handing the raffle bike title to Mark and his son at Big D Cycle on Saturday, Oct. 8th.

Rallye Schedule


Field Events

Field events were open to all motorcycles and all ages. Winner of each event received a trophy.

Single Rider
1:00pm 1:30pm: Cold Start Race
1:30pm 2:00pm: Ride The Plank
2:00pm 2:30pm: Slow Race

2:30pm 3:00pm: Clothes Pin
3:00pm 3:30pm: Ring Toss



Bike Show

9:00am 11:00am: Registration
11:00am 2:00pm: Bike Show Judging

Rolling Concours

2:00pm 4:00pm: Course Is Open

Motorcycles must participate in the Bike Show to be eligible for Rolling Concours. All participants received a medal at the halfway point.

Saturday Night

5:30pm 7:00pm: Award Ceremony
8:00pm - ?: Music and Dancing at the Pavilion

The 2016 Rallye Pin

Click on photo to enlarge


Link to Jefferson Tourism Department -
Link to Jefferson Chamber of Commerce -

Click here for a map to Big Cypress Marina

Current Time & Weather in Jefferson, TX
Click for Jefferson, Texas Forecast

Lake O' the Pines Rally Recaps:
['15 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['14 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['13 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['12 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['11 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['10 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['09 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['08 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['06 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['05 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['04 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['03 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['02 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['01 Lake O' the Pines Rally]
['00 Lake O' the Pines Rally]

[Home]      [Site Map]